September 13, 2018

The Honorable Pat Roberts
Chairman
109 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable K. Michael Conaway Chairman 1301 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Debbie Stabenow Ranking Member 731 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Collin C. Peterson Ranking Member 1010 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairman Roberts, Ranking Members Stabenow, Chairman Conaway, and Ranking Member Peterson,

On behalf of the undersigned cities, counties and local governments, we write to oppose a provision in the House Farm bill that would preempt local pesticide protections. As House and Senate conferees negotiate a final agreement, we urge you to reject this provision.

While we may have differing views on pesticides, we take very seriously our duty to protect our constituents. Section 9101 of the House measure is a direct assault on this authority. This provision prohibits local governments from adopting pesticide laws that are more protective than federal rules. It overturns decades of precedent and Supreme Court rulings and could prevent local governments from tailoring laws to the specific needs of the community.

To date, over 150 communities across the country have passed policies to restrict the use of pesticides in response to emerging evidence about potential human and environment impacts. The exact concerns differ by pesticide, but include links to cancer, developmental challenges, lower IQ, and delayed motor development. Many of these laws work to protect the most vulnerable among us, such as children, who take in more pesticides relative to their body weight than adults and have developing organ systems. Others focus on the safeguarding precious water resources, or the protection of wildlife like declining pollinator species critical to our environment and food supply.

Local governments have responded to the scientific evidence, their residents' concerns, and their area's unique ecological conditions through prudent measures to reduce exposure to hazardous pesticides. This includes actions such as creating a list of approved or prohibited pesticides, restricting toxic pesticide use around parks and playgrounds, negotiating commodity contracts and service agreements that prevent suppliers from offering products that contain pesticides harmful to pollinators, and keeping habitat along rights-of-way and other areas of management property free of pesticides harmful to pollinators. In states that have passed preemption laws, local governments must bend over backwards to pass local legislation that fits our community's needs. These restrictions keep us from doing our job as policymakers. We urge you not to strengthen these already-harmful laws.

While not every city has taken these actions, we strongly support our right to do so and oppose forfeiting this right for the indefinite future. In fact, Section 9101 undermines the key role that local governments play across the country. As local officials, we are highly attuned to the needs of our constituents and adept at calibrating our protections accordingly. Local governments are also nimbler than their state or federal counterparts and can quickly respond to emerging health hazards when federal protections may take years to achieve. Finally, we are concerned that Section 9101 will set a precedent to upend local autonomy on other important issues.

We urge you to oppose the pesticide preemption provision in the House Farm Bill to protect public health and the environment and reach agreement on a final 2018 Farm Bill that does not include this provision.

Sincerely,

Andrew Pruski Councilman

Anne Arundel County, MD

Mark Andre

Environmental Services Director

Arcata, CA

Davina Duerr **Deputy Mayor** Bothell, WA

Elise Jones

County Commissioner

Boulder County, CO

Rella Abernathy

Integrated Pest Management Coordinator

Boulder, CO

Dan Carson

City Councilmember

Davis, CA

Dennis Shanahan City Councilor

Dover, NH

Nancy Tyra-Lukens

Mayor

Eden Prairie, MN

Megan Dunn

Planning Commissioner

Everett, WA

Tyler Rourke

Chair, Transportation Advisory Committee

Everett, WA

Peter Lacques Mayor Fairfax, CA

Emmet V. Jordan

Mayor

Greenbelt, MD

Jeanne Kohl-Welles Councilmember King County, WA

Rick Mullen Mayor Malibu, CA

Charles Osborbe

Chair, Recreation and Park Commission

Marblehead, MA

Council Member Elle Cochran County Council, West Maui

Maui, HI

Council Member Alika Atay

County Council member, Wailuku-Waihe'e

Maui, HI

Council Member Kelly King

County Council Member, South Maui

Maui, HI

Ross Conrad

Addison County Regional Planning Commission

Middlebury, VT

Mark Gamba Mayor

Milwaukie, OR

Cam Gordon

Council Member, Ward 2

Minneapolis. MN

George Leventhal Councilmember

Montgomery County. MD

Anne Watson

Mayor

Montpelier, VT

Councilmember

Moorpark, CA

David Pollock

Jennifer Gregerson

Mayor

Mukilteo, WA

Kathi Hemke Mayor

New Hope, MN

Smith Joseph

Mayor

Alisa Klein

North Miami, FL

City Councilor

Northampton, MA

Michael DeVlieger 1st Ward Councilman

Ocean City, NJ

Suza Francina

City Councilmember

Ojai, CA

William Wierick

City Councilmember

Ojai, CA

Belinda Ray

City Councilor

Portland, ME

Jill Duson

At Large City Councilor

Portland, ME

Ethan Strimling

Mayor

Portland, ME

Dannielle Glaros

County Councilmember

Prince George's County, MD

Tom Butt

Mayor

Richmond, CA

Eduardo Martinez

City Council Member

Richmond, CA

Julie Palakovich Carr

Councilmember

Rockville, MD

Jarret K. Smith

Councilmember

Takoma Park, MD

Cindy Dyballa

Councilmember

Takoma Park, MD

Mark Pierzchala Councilmember Rockville, MD

Mike O'Brien Councilmember Seattle, WA

Kristine Sundberg City Councilmember Shorewood, MN

Scott Zerby Mayor

Shorewood, MN

Sara Continenza Councilwoman South Euclid, OH

Linda C. Cohen Mayor

South Portland, ME

Ben Stuckart

City Council President

Spokane, WA

Jake Spano Mayor

St. Louis Park, MN

Kate Stewart Mayor

Takoma Park, MD

Terry Seamens Councilmember, Ward 4 Takoma Park, MD Kacy Kostiuk

City Councilmember Takoma Park, MD

Ruscal Cayangyang

Vallejo School Board Member

Vallejo, CA

Meghan Jop

Assistant Executive Director

Wellesley, MA

Richard Howell

Chairman, Wetlands Protection

Wellesley, MA

Brandon Schmitt

Director, Natural Resources Commission

Wellesley, MA

Lindsey Horvath Councilmember West Hollywood, CA

Alison Miller

Township Council President West Windsor Township, NJ

Anne O'Connor Select Board Chair Williamstown, MA