September 13, 2018

The Honorable Pat Roberts Chairman 109 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable K. Michael Conaway Chairman 1301 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Debbie Stabenow Ranking Member 731 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Collin C. Peterson Ranking Member 1010 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairman Roberts, Ranking Members Stabenow, Chairman Conaway, and Ranking Member Peterson,

On behalf of the undersigned cities, counties and local governments, we write to oppose a provision in the House Farm bill that would preempt local pesticide protections. As House and Senate conferees negotiate a final agreement, we urge you to reject this provision.

While we may have differing views on pesticides, we take very seriously our duty to protect our constituents. Section 9101 of the House measure is a direct assault on this authority. This provision prohibits local governments from adopting pesticide laws that are more protective than federal rules. It overturns decades of precedent and Supreme Court rulings and could prevent local governments from tailoring laws to the specific needs of the community.

To date, over 150 communities across the country have passed policies to restrict the use of pesticides in response to emerging evidence about potential human and environment impacts. The exact concerns differ by pesticide, but include links to cancer, developmental challenges, lower IQ, and delayed motor development. Many of these laws work to protect the most vulnerable among us, such as children, who take in more pesticides relative to their body weight than adults and have developing organ systems. Others focus on the safeguarding precious water resources, or the protection of wildlife like declining pollinator species critical to our environment and food supply.

Local governments have responded to the scientific evidence, their residents' concerns, and their area's unique ecological conditions through prudent measures to reduce exposure to hazardous pesticides. This includes actions such as creating a list of approved or prohibited pesticides, restricting toxic pesticide use around parks and playgrounds, negotiating commodity contracts and service agreements that prevent suppliers from offering products that contain pesticides harmful to pollinators, and keeping habitat along rights-of-way and other areas of management property free of pesticides harmful to pollinators. In states that have passed preemption laws, local governments must bend over backwards to pass local legislation that fits our community's needs. These restrictions keep us from doing our job as policymakers. We urge you not to strengthen these already-harmful laws.

While not every city has taken these actions, we strongly support our right to do so and oppose forfeiting this right for the indefinite future. In fact, Section 9101 undermines the key role that local governments play across the country. As local officials, we are highly attuned to the needs of our constituents and adept at calibrating our protections accordingly. Local governments are also nimbler than their state or federal counterparts and can quickly respond to emerging health hazards when federal protections may take years to achieve. Finally, we are concerned that Section 9101 will set a precedent to upend local autonomy on other important issues.

We urge you to oppose the pesticide preemption provision in the House Farm Bill to protect public health and the environment and reach agreement on a final 2018 Farm Bill that does not include this provision.

Sincerely,

Andrew Pruski Councilman Anne Arundel County, MD

Mark Andre Environmental Services Director Arcata, CA

Davina Duerr Deputy Mayor Bothell, WA

Elise Jones County Commissioner Boulder County, CO

Rella Abernathy Integrated Pest Management Coordinator Boulder, CO

Dan Carson City Councilmember Davis, CA

Dennis Shanahan City Councilor Dover, NH

Nancy Tyra-Lukens Mayor Eden Prairie, MN Megan Dunn Planning Commissioner Everett, WA

Tyler Rourke Chair, Transportation Advisory Committee Everett, WA

Peter Lacques Mayor Fairfax, CA

Emmet V. Jordan Mayor Greenbelt, MD

Jeanne Kohl-Welles Councilmember King County, WA

Rick Mullen Mayor Malibu, CA

Charles Osborbe Chair, Recreation and Park Commission Marblehead, MA

Council Member Elle Cochran County Council, West Maui Maui, HI Council Member Alika Atay County Council member, Wailuku-Waihe'e Maui, HI

Council Member Kelly King County Council Member, South Maui Maui, HI

Ross Conrad Addison County Regional Planning Commission Middlebury, VT

Mark Gamba Mayor Milwaukie, OR

Cam Gordon Council Member, Ward 2 Minneapolis. MN

George Leventhal Councilmember Montgomery County. MD

Anne Watson Mayor Montpelier, VT

David Pollock Councilmember Moorpark, CA

Jennifer Gregerson Mayor Mukilteo, WA

Kathi Hemke Mayor New Hope, MN

Smith Joseph Mayor North Miami, FL

Alisa Klein City Councilor Northampton, MA Michael DeVlieger 1st Ward Councilman Ocean City, NJ

Suza Francina City Councilmember Ojai, CA

William Wierick City Councilmember Ojai, CA

Belinda Ray City Councilor Portland, ME

Jill Duson At Large City Councilor Portland, ME

Ethan Strimling Mayor Portland, ME

Dannielle Glaros County Councilmember Prince George's County, MD

Tom Butt Mayor Richmond, CA

Eduardo Martinez City Council Member Richmond, CA

Susan Crothers Gee Sustainability Commissioner River Forest, IL

Julie Moller Sustainability Commissioner River Forest, IL

Julie Palakovich Carr Councilmember Rockville, MD Mark Pierzchala Councilmember Rockville, MD

Mike O'Brien Councilmember Seattle, WA

Kristine Sundberg City Councilmember Shorewood, MN

Scott Zerby Mayor Shorewood, MN

Sara Continenza Councilwoman South Euclid, OH

Linda C. Cohen Mayor South Portland, ME

Ben Stuckart City Council President Spokane, WA

Jake Spano Mayor St. Louis Park, MN

Kate Stewart Mayor Takoma Park, MD

Terry Seamens Councilmember, Ward 4 Takoma Park, MD Jarret K. Smith Councilmember Takoma Park, MD

Cindy Dyballa Councilmember Takoma Park, MD

Kacy Kostiuk City Councilmember Takoma Park, MD

Ruscal Cayangyang Vallejo School Board Member Vallejo, CA

Meghan Jop Assistant Executive Director Wellesley, MA

Richard Howell Chairman, Wetlands Protection Wellesley, MA

Brandon Schmitt Director, Natural Resources Commission Wellesley, MA

Lindsey Horvath Councilmember West Hollywood, CA

Alison Miller Township Council President West Windsor Township, NJ

Anne O'Connor Select Board Chair Williamstown, MA